Entry requirements for Egypt

Foreign nationals must have a passport valid for at least 6 months from the date of arrival.

Most foreign nationals need a visa to enter Egypt. Passport holders from just 10 countries and territories can visit for up to 3 months visa-free.

  • Bahrain
  • Hong Kong
  • Israel*
  • Kuwait
  • Lebanon*
  • Macao
  • Oman
  • Saudi Arabia
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Malaysia (14 days)


* Special conditions apply

Travellers from 74 countries can get a visa for Egypt online. The Egyptian eVisa is the most convenient option for visitors, the application process is 100% online.

Anyone not eligible for the eVisa needs to get an Egyptian visa through the embassy or consulate.

Citizens from the following countries are eligible for the e-Visa:

Citizens from these countries are eligible for the Egypt visa on arrival, however online applications are advised.

For more information and to apply for evisa, please visit

What are the requirements for the Egypt visa on arrival?

Passengers can avoid queuing for a visa on arrival in Egypt by applying for an eVisa. The Egyptian eVisa is the most convenient option for most eligible visitors.

However, for people travelling to Egypt in the next few days who do not have time to apply for the eVisa, the visa on arrival is a useful option.

Travellers can get an Egypt visa on arrival from one of the kiosks at any of the airport terminals. The visa fee must be paid in cash (credit and debit cards are not accepted).

Applicants receive a visa sticker which they present at the immigration desks to gain entry. The visa on arrival allows visitors to stay for up to 30 days. Only single-entry visas are available on arrival.